• The rules for The Exchange can be found here. Please read and follow them. Stop using Paypal Friends & Family and follow our best practices to prevent getting ripped off or having a bad deal.

Shipping Advice Needed

Hello there . . .

I'm a total newbie at selling knives online and, while I get the USPS priority mail flat rate thing, I was wondering how sellers deal with shipping more expensive items. Do you insure your shipment and calculate shipping costs based on the buyer's location and insured amount? How do you pass that information on to potential buyers in your posts?

Thanks

You don't pass it on. IMHO, it's the cost of doing business in owning and choosing to sell a high end knife. If you have a knife that you sell for $3,ooo, insure it for that amount, package it very well in a Priority flat-rate box, and send it off. 99.999% of the time, there will be no issues. A little common sense goes a long way.

You don't pass it on. IMHO, it's the cost of doing business in owning and choosing to sell a high end knife. If you have a knife that you sell for $3,ooo, insure it for that amount, package it very well in a Priority flat-rate box, and send it off. 99.999% of the time, there will be no issues. A little common sense goes a long way.
Thanks . . .

Chris' advice is good...:thumbsup:

What I've learned from lurking for years here and watching the most reputable sellers, buyers, and traders and being a paying member for a few years: