Should I get a Gerber Paul knife?

I've been thinking of this one for a long time...What do you think, should I get one for about $160? That would be my most expensive knife so far, and that's what's been holding me back for so long. I know it's not much for some folks in here, but I guess I'm just getting started
wink.gif
But with this knife, it's pretty much of a "take it or leave it" -situation. The knife is of the Paul Series II, model 2. The seller said the lock is slightly bigger than that of the original. He also said that with this design, more attention has been paid to durability and lock strength. It comes with a black plastic box with red interior.

I hope this info says more to you guys than it says me. I would also like to hear any comments you have about this knife in general. Hmmmm...Why does my wallet have cold sweat all over it?

Thanks,
Jani

------------------
Two important questions in life:
Do they have a catalog?
Did you know there's a town called "Batman" in Turkey?

[This message has been edited by Jani Kemppainen (edited 19 October 1999).]

I have one from the early '80s with Cocobolo handles. It has great sentimental value for me, I carried it for years, and it's now retired, although it's still in near 100% condition.

It's a nice one hand opener, with a unique design, although a little small for my current tastes.

------------------
LD
"Every Dog Has His Day"
BFC Member Since October 2, 1998

I think they're a great little knife, a nice "gentleman's folder". I have several and carry one on occasion. $160 seems high if it has the regular black scales. You could probably pick a new one up at a gun & knife show for $90 - $120. I paid $75 for the last one I bought about a year ago.

------------------
Bill
"There's nothing friendlier than a wet dog"
"The more people I meet the more I like my dogs"