Shun paring knife

I recently picked up a Shun paring knife and have a question. First, the fit and finish, ergos, and quality are excellent. I noticed that the higher carbon steel is showing with use, and that is fine but a small nick came off the edge. It seems the higher carbon part of the steel is missing, almost as if the blade chipped. The damage is not from chipping but normal cutting. Large enough to be seen with the naked eye and easily catches a finger nail.

Is this normal or cause for concern? Something one may send to Shun to examine? Or, just sharpen it out and don't worry about it.

Any chance you could post a picture of this? What is your sharpening procedure? Use a steel? What material is your cutting board? What is your major use for this blade? Sorry for all the questions, but it's the only way I think anyone will be able to be of any help with this.
-Mark

Yeah, mark's got it right. gotta know what you did with it. I work as a knife sharpener and see a lot of shuns with chips. Lots of people try to use them for things they shouldn't with the thin ass grind shun puts on there. I get this one rich guy that always brings in 2 or 3 ken onions with huge chips taken out. "What did you do to these" "Oh well i was trying to cut ribs, i guess these knives just aren't made well." Really wanna slap him. More info would help, but just as a blanket statement, I'd recommend slapping a convex edge on that bad boy. Its what we do at work and it seems to help alleviate some of these issues for people. They're so thin that you definitely have to be careful what you cut though.

shun_bm.jpgshun.jpg

I use an Epicurean board. We have a couple sizes and they work great.

The photo, which was hard to get, shows one area. I took the other photo to share since I had the kitchen knives out.

The Shun has only been used to cut fruit (apples and pears) and cheese. Hand wash only. It has not been sharpened yet.