Skinning a Moose

I had a customer ask for me to make him a knife that would skin a moose without resharpening. Is it possiable? what steel-heat treat?????

------------------

You should talk to PJ Turner. He mades the Uluchet (D2 cryogenically treated hunting knife) and we just tested that knife on a recent hunt that included skinning a large moose. I just sent PJ the report this evening and will be posting it in the review section very soon.

The knife did a super job. It caped a 57-inch moose with no problem.

PJ's email:
pjtm@silverstar.com

------------------
~Greg~

I have been using 440C heat treated and cryo treated for about 10 years now for that job.

I guarantee that the knife will hold an edge long enough to dress, quarter and skin an entire moose. Every year at least one hunter comes in and claims to have dressed, quartered and skinned at least two moose before sharpening and none have yet complained that the knife did not last long enough to finish the one moose guaranteed.

Last week a fellow brought a knife in for resharpening that the had just finished skinning three elk with, just had to touch up the edge a little on a stropping wheel.

So Don't let anybody tell you that 440C isn't a quality steel as long as it is cryo treated.

------------------
george
www.tichbourneknives.com
sales@tichbourneknives.com

Bob Dozier's knives in D2 will do the job without needing resharpening? My Yukon Pro Skinner manages 4-5 deer before I need to even think about touching up the blade (I ran test at last year's deer camp just to see how long it could go).

Bob's knives are excellent, and a great value!

AJ

Thanks for the help........who is this Master Don anyway.....I have got to see what you guys are talking about.

------------------

I guaranty our Game Skinner or our Kodi-Skinner/Kodi-Pak will hold it's edge through an entire moose or double your money back.

------------------
Sincerely,
Outdoor Edge Cutlery Corp.

David Bloch