• Preorders are LIVE for the 2024 BladeForums Traditional Knife

Traditional Knife Information Thread - make sure you go in there and read up.

Requirements: Be a Gold or higher member or have been a member of the forums since 6/2023 with at least 100 posts in the Traditional Forum. Preorder is for people who live in the continental US only, international orders will be separate.

Delivery expected in Q4 2024, hopefully before the holidays.

User Name
    Serial number request

SOG SEAL 2000 vs. Buck Nighthawk

Hi, I'm fairly new to the knife world and am looking for a good fixed blade knife for both general purpose utility and defensive use. After reading some publications, I like the looks and seemingly good quality of the SEAL 2000 and the Buck Nighthawk. I know that the SOG is more expensive than the Buck, but is it that much better? Any advice or comments you can lend would be appreciated. Also, I'm open to other manufacurers. Thanks.

yoda4561

Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
Now ill admit to being tempted to buy both these knives at one time or another, but in my opinion there are much better knives out there for the price, in terms of both performance and looks. The sog is plenty well enough built. just that the 440A stainless isnt the greatest for edge holding. The buck with the 425 is even worse. Check into some of the offerings from Ontario, the blades are made of carbon steel + they are coated with epoxy so they wont rust if you take care of them. Another option would be to look at cold steel's bushman or recon scout or the srk. Though i dont like the companys advertising strategy, or their warranty for that matter they make pretty good knives. Just shop around a bit more. If you still like the sog it is a good knife... just that there are better ones out there

------------------
One with the Force you must be...WISH NOT TO BE A JEDI!!NO PENSION YOU SAY!! Hmph! a Jedi desires not these things.