Spyderco Ayoob

Does anybody have one or had one? What is your impressions of this model?
Thanks
Centurian

Hi Centurian. Take a look at the knife; take a look at the name of the knife. What obviously comes to mind is "tactical knife!" Rightly so, maybe, but I have found this knife to be quite effective for utility use. While I am no expert to comment on the Ayoob from a tactical tool standpoint, I am able to relate to you my uses of the knife for everyday chores.

The knife is great for slicing things on a cutting board or dinner plate due to the angle between the handle and the blade--it keeps your knuckles from scraping against the table or counter. Obviously, it's nice for cutting food, opening envelopes, severing cord, etc. (Not too efficient for opening boxes--but this may be a personal problem). I think it would make a great fishing knife but I am currently reluctant to take such a fine knife fishing. The handle design allows for a secure grip and offsets the complaint by some that the almite handle coating is slippery. Being a slim knife the Ayoob is a comfortable carry but you should be cautioned that it can snag in your right rear pocket during extraction due to the unusual handle curves near the clip. Great choice of blade material in VG-10.

My recommendation is to handle the knife and try not to dismiss it as a limited use knife. I hope this helps.

So, what exactly is almite?
The knife looks pretty cool and it seems kinda rare, don't see many people with one.

Almite is a coating that Spyderco uses on some of the handles of their knives. It is lightweight and facilitates the use of dyes (or pigments?). I'm not sure whether or not it is proprietary to Spyderco. A crude person (not me) would oversimplify and call it "paint." ;)