Spyderco Screw problem

Hi everyone,

I'm new to knife and I bought my first Spyderco a couple of weeks ago. I choose the Manix 2 and I loved it until now.

There is a screw on the backspacer that fell by itself. Now I am incapable of putting it back in place. The threads of the screw and the threads of the backspacer are completely messed up. I've looked online and I've never seen anyone with that type of problem. Am I the only one? What can I do to fix this? I know I can buy new screws to replace the broken one but what about the backspacer?

Obviously I tried different things to put the screw back in. Will spyderco consider that I tempered with the mechanism and refuse to fix it for me?

I paid a lot for that American made knife and I am very disappointed by it. Everyone speaks so highly of Spyderco and the first I buy basically falls apart in my hand after a couple of weeks.

Thanks in advance and have a great day

Step one is to contact Spyderco and send them the knife. They'll fix it right in the factory it was made.

There are 2 problems with that :

1) I'm Canadian. I'll be able to send the knife to the States but I am not sure that it will come back due to Canadian Border Services.

2) I tried to clean up the backspacer threads and remove the locktite. I'm afraid that they will void the warranty because of that. Am I wrong to believe that?

Last edited:
There are 2 problems with that :

1) I'm Canadian. I'll be able to send the knife to the States but I am not sure that it will come back due to Canadian Border Services.

2) I opened the knife in an attempt to clean up the backspacer threads and remove the locktite. I'm afraid that they will void the warranty because of that. Am I wrong to believe that?
I am Canadian too. I've sent knives to them in the past and recently and never had a CBSA issue. Also they have sent me parts like clip screws direct without having to return the knife.