spyderco sharpmaker

r redden

Platinum Member
I am not very good at putting an edge on a knife. Any of you use the Sharpmaker system is it a good user friendly system or is there something better. I need to stay $100 or less. Preferably less.

I'll second what EyeDog says. Even using a guided system, it helps to understand what sharpening is about. This forum has a lot to offer even in just the stickies.

I went and bought a full set of DMT 8" x 3" diamond stones and a couple of Norton ceramic stones. but it doesn't come with time which I'm short of. I also bought the sharpmaker which I use to quickly maintain my edges in combination with a basswood strop and leather strop. But either system or any system of sharpening requires understanding what it is I am trying to achieve - a clean burr-free apex formed by the two bevel planes.

TravisH

Gold Member
I switched to the Sharpmaker from guided systems like the Lansky and DMT Aligner for maintaining my EDC edges.

For my kitchen knives, it's perfect for putting a very sharp edge easily with minimal effort.

Here's the Sharpmaker Instructional Video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5LBDnJv5B58

my sharpmaker is grate for maintaining a good sharp edge on all my knifes,but for changing bevels i find you must ether freehand or go with some thing like a edge pro! sharpmaker just takes to long for this,otherwise i love the system,keep reading this forum and learn as you go.

I like the sharpmaker, but I added the diamond rods which makes a world of difference re-profiling the edge.

I bought a sharpmaker as a teenager and still use it. I agree freehand sharpening would be a worthwhile skill but the sharpmaker really isn't so far from freehand. And it works great