Spyderco Warranty Update

I never understood why people do this. Why would you assume that you need to disassemble the knife out of the factory to make sure it's working properly? Just trust Spyderco to deliver a ready to use product to you, then hand it in if there ever is a problem.

If enough customers complain about the disassembly void, it's great that Spyderco listen to them, I just don't see why this is necessary.

That's awesome. I was always a bit hesitant on doing anything to my Spydies just for that reason. Never ran into any issues with the loctite deal, but I'm super happy they changed their policy on disassembly. Great move, Spyderco.

Thank you Spyderco!!

It's really great to see a company these days actually listen to their customers.

I'm relatively new to knives, and bladeforums, but already have 2 Delica's, an Endura, and a Sharpmaker to keep them sharp. Stuff like this is the reason my next knife will probably be a Spyderco again.

Does this change apply only to knives made after the announcement and thus without red locktite or to all Spydercos ever made?

They had to make this change, what with the Advocate and Mantra's bearings eating through the washers. They would have to recall all their bearing knives or let the users take them apart to instal new washers.

I never understood why people do this. Why would you assume that you need to disassemble the knife out of the factory to make sure it's working properly? Just trust Spyderco to deliver a ready to use product to you, then hand it in if there ever is a problem.

If enough customers complain about the disassembly void, it's great that Spyderco listen to them, I just don't see why this is necessary.

If you use your knives as knives, at some point in time you might want to disassemble for a full breakdown/clean that is why.

I didn't read that Spyderco is changing their warranty, just rewording it so people won't mistakenly think they void just for disassembly (good luck with that).