1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Steevee's WIP-ZONE

Discussion in 'Custom & Handmade Knives' started by steevee, Jun 25, 2018.

1. steevee

steevee KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Jul 11, 2012
    Hello!

Not sure if anyone cares for knifemakers with such small name as myself but I thought that it won't hurt to post it. Somehow this projest got me more excited than usually.

I had piece of O1 laying around that would make an awesome chopper... So I started drawing and ended up with this...

[​IMG]

But I already made a lot of knives with harpoon style swedge and there is gazillion of those made by other makers, so I tried to figure out something a little different. I came up with this...
    [​IMG]

And fell in love with those lines. Got it heat treated same day

[​IMG]

Today I cleaned it up
    [​IMG]

Now It's time for the guard and handle, but I'd like to share with You some blade details first:
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    ...And here's a drawing of the whole project:
    [​IMG]

I'm planing to make fatigued look brass guard and green burlap micarta handle.

More updates coming soon

Cheers!

2. Dawkind

Dawkind Platinum Member Platinum Member

Apr 3, 2000
    You’ve got an awesome start going, looking forward to seeing more...:)

Mike157 and steevee like this.
  3. i4Marc

i4Marc KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Oct 19, 2011
    Definitely liking version 2.0 better. I tend to like swedge lines that meet the tip of the blade but that's just me. You do clean precise work and have good attention to detail, like the chamfered corners/edges. Looking forward to seeing it completed.

4. Scott Hanson

Scott Hanson KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Sep 6, 2014