straight blade or serrated?

I'm in the market for a new defensive folder and the market seems to be flooded with 50/50 straight/serrated blades. Cool enough but some blades only come in one flavour or the other. I can see how a serrated blade will cut through jackets/leather and assorted concetive tissue rather nicely, but I have heard about it catching up on bone. What are the opinons of youze guys????

I don't know about going through flesh and all that, but unless you will be cutting a lot of rope, I find the serrations get in the way for general utility. And even on the most tactical of knives, it will mostly be used to open packages and the like.

Luria,

I've been wondering about this myself. You might try asking Bob Taylor over in the Tactical forum. I'm no expert, nor even a novice for that matter, but my own preference would be a very sharp plain edge.

David Rock

I like to carry one of each that way I feel that I have the best of both worlds.
Chris, Top of Texas Knives
www.toptexknives.com

luria -- all the Spyderco's I own (Endura II and 440V Military) are fully serrated. These are for serious social situations only. I guess Sal's viewpoint on this issue is best told by him. Here's a quote from the SpyderMan himself:

Thanx guys - you are all correct! I carry both plain and serrated edges (often times both). They both suck if they aren't sharp.

Serrations do stay sharper longer than plain edges in most instances because the tip of the tooth is protecting the recessed sharp edge. (such as on a cutting board where it is the board and not the food that is dulling the edge). Serrations work better on tomatoes, kevlar, etc. Plain edges are superior for precision cutting chores.

My custom collection is mostly serrated partially because I have campaigned them so hard and because most custom makers had never made one and it provides a very unusual collection.