Review Streamlight Microstream USB

I'm not a professional reviewer but I will touch on some things that stood out to me that I didn't necessarily know/hear in reviews before I got one . If you're already a fan of the original, maybe this will help you decide if its right for you as an upgrade.

Streamlight Microstream-
I always carry a flashlight and over the years it has become invaluable piece of gear. I bought the original Streamlight Microstream and loved its size and the simplicity. A while back I heard about the Microstream USB and was both intrigued and sceptical at the same time, but my curiosity and hope for better gear won out.

The original model was 35 lumens I think, and then they came out with the C4 LED it moved the little light up to 45 lumens. That doesn't sound like much and although now there are smaller twist lights that put out more, the Microstream was bright enough and 1 AAA battery lasted quite a long time. You could squeeze more lumens and more run time out of it by using lithium ion batteries which I usually did. It became very popular, people loved the size and quality and even the clicky tailcap.

When I first read about the new (USB) model all that stood out to me was "300 recharges" which wasn't very reassuring. But theres more interesting stuff like lumens are 5x higher, you can recharge it with a standard USB cable, two different modes, run time, etc. So are the features appealing enough to upgrade from the original?

Streamlight Microstream USB-
oE24fEPh.jpg

The new model is only slightly longer than the original, approximately 1/4". It comes in black, red, blue, and coyote. A two way clip that fits on your pocket and the reverse fits on a cap bill. It also comes with a lanyard that can be worn around the neck

20181202_013340.jpg