1. Welcome to the New & Improved BladeForums. New software info here. Please report problems in Tech Support, and read existing threads before posting! - Spark
  2. I've changed the default forum style to Flat Awesome based on feedback. Don't like it? Click here to change how the forums look Feedback on this is welcome here.

Strider concerns

Discussion in 'General Knife Discussion' started by LIMELITE, Dec 25, 2010.

1. LIMELITE

LIMELITE

Dec 23, 2010
    I am concerned about the break in period for a Strider SMF.
    First of all do they actually get easier to unlock the blade over time? If so, obviously I realize it depends on the usage, but does this take days, weeks, or months? Are there cases when they don't break in? Secondly, which would be better oil, fluorinated grease or neither to help action? And finially since I am new to this I was wondering if once you oil or grease a knife and that area appears black should this be wiped off or left on? My instincts tell me to wipe off?

2. Esav Benyamin

Esav Benyamin MidniteSuperMod Staff Member Super Mod

Apr 6, 2000
    If the knife is a user, I don't worry about oil marking the metal.

A framelock can be hard to unlock when the metal to metal contact of titanium to steel galls. Take a pencil and scribble on the lockface to lubricate it. This should eliminate a lot of the stiffness.

The pivot action will break in pretty quickly. I disassemble and wipe down the parts with Tuff-Cloth. This cleans out any grit that might have collected in there.

3. RevDevil

RevDevil Super Evil Supermod Staff Member Super Mod

Nov 9, 2009
    Read through this

4. Esav Benyamin

Esav Benyamin MidniteSuperMod Staff Member Super Mod

Apr 6, 2000
    Awesome. TMI !!! :D

5. RevDevil

Nov 9, 2009
    Hey now! :(

6. THE PUNISHER

THE PUNISHER

Nov 24, 2008
    they smooth out over time,strider does not use washers so it is g-10 to metal..

7. RevDevil

Nov 9, 2009
    Wot?