The difference between single and triple phase?

I am new to this but if I may ask. What is the difference between single and triple phase? I am looking to get a KMG with the best motor sold on the KMG website, the 3HP single phase variable speed model (cat no. VS-VFD-3.0). I have an electrician that lives across the street who says he can put a 220v line in my spare garage. It has 110v now with plenty of space on the breaker box (it has an electric water heater so I wonder if that's 220v). Is there anything I should tell him to do when installing the 220v line? Does the installed line need to be 1 or 3 phase and does a VFD need 3 phase to function optimally? Thank you in advance.

Three phase power is not normally available to residential homes. That is why the three phase motor is driven by a VFD. The VFD input takes 220 VAC single phase power and delivers three phase to the motor. By changing the frequency of the power, the VFD allows the motor to run on speeds from stop to very fast with little power loss.
Your electrician simply needs to wire up a 220 socket with a receptacle to match the one on the VFD.

Three phase power is not normally available to residential homes. That is why the three phase motor is driven by a VFD. The VFD input takes 220 VAC single phase power and delivers three phase to the motor. By changing the frequency of the power, the VFD allows the motor to run on speeds from stop to very fast with little power loss.
Your electrician simply needs to wire up a 220 socket with a receptacle to match the one on the VFD.

Thank you very much. What type of socket would I need for the KMG 3hp and VFD from BeaumontMetalWorks? I am gonna have my electrician install it in advance.