The More You Know, A PSA For Parents

Discussion in 'Fiddleback Forge Knives' started by B Griffin, Aug 10, 2020.

1. B Griffin

B Griffin Gold Member Gold Member

Dec 22, 2007
    I haven't been around asd much as I'd like lately. My life has been really hectic and intense since May, after losing more than 75% of my income in March, and having to get creative just to keep the ends meeting. So having had my hands full chasing work more than doing work, just trying to keep the bills paid and the cupboard not bare, sometimes things have slipped a little. The following is a slipping that caught me completely off guard in a bad way.

I am an artist who uses social media to show my art. My oldest daughter who is 26 does the same. My youngest struggles a little with autism, not severely but has some slight learning challenges and comprehension issues, and at 15 has less experience with social media than some 10 yr olds I know. Because I have been trying to ease her into the internet because of her taking things so literally. She wanted a way to show off her drawing and gacha edits and talk to other kids, because she's been bored and lonely with no school going on and missing her friends. So I let her have an IG account with strict rules. No pics of her, and no PMs with strangers. Made the account private and told her to just add her family and friends she knows personally from school. And then I monitored it very closely at first and all was going fine. But then our financial world got rocked hard and it took all i had to keep us going through it. I got busier after the bio war started and I guess she got lonelier. So she made her account public to try to find some of her friends from school and I didn't know.