The Problem with Case Stockman Pocketknives

Preface: I have attempted to take fair and honest pictures but I am no professional photographer.

The pocketknives in these pictures are:

-Jeep Stockman (JP-1009). Imitation Mother of Pearl. Unknown manufacturer but it does have "made in China" stamped on it.

-Case Medium Stockman (6318 SS). Pocket Worn Bermuda Green Bone.

1. I genuinely could never find a use for the third blade (major problem).

2. Because you have two blades competing for the space of one spring, you end up bending one of the two blades. This can be corrected in one of two manners. Either making each blade short enough they only reach the half way point or grinding the blades thinner and orienting them in opposite directions as to "nest" together. Case did neither of these (major problem).

Note the "nesting" effect created that allows two blades to fit in the space of one spring.

pwHN3ip.jpg

This next picture shows the different methods used by each company. Note the obvious bend in the top right blade of the Case Stockman.

R4tj9BO.jpg

This image shows one blade open and the bent blade closed. Note that the blade wants to return to it's "proper" location which is inhibited when both blades are closed, thus causing the bent blade.

2EbE9UW.jpg

In this image, I placed the blade next to a straight edge to show the blade has begun to bend. Because the blade is bent while closed, it has begun to bend permanently.

UJKje6n.jpg