The razor's edge...

Ok, now, on to sharpening our knives...I will be the first to admit that I am a little new to the custom blade world. I was satisfied (at one time)with the myriad number of lesser blades running in the 50-100 dollar range. In fact, I patted myself on the back for my for my judgment in blade selection. That is, until I came into the fold of the custom smiths. In particular, Busse Combat. Now, I can never go back to using a blade less than what I have come to know here.

My question relates to sharpening techniques. I am new to this area of knife care as well. In particular, I am curious about field expedient methods of bring an edge back to life. I have both a BM and a NO with a ZT Satin Jack about to take residence here as well. So, here are my questions...

1. What is everyone's thoughts on the clamp type sharpeners such as Lansky (I pulled mine out today that had been given as a gift and tried to put it to work) with the different stones.

2. Is there a better method, or more recommended method? I have read about the diamond sharpeners and cermaics. Which seem to have the best results on these type of blades?

3. Am I looking for specific angle to sharpen these types of blades?

4. Is stropping recommended for these blades as well, and where would I find these types of supplies?

5. What system is best recommended for when you're out in the field. I have a WSI firestarter (P60C) that has the magnesium and flint one one side of a wood block with a ceramic sharpener on the other. I am not convinced yet in regard to the effectiveness of the ceramic stone. I am looking for something relatively comapct and could possibly be stored in the pouch of the corduar sheath that came with my BM and NO.

I know these are a lot of questions from a newbie to the forums, but I am gambling on the good nature of the Busse fans to offer their insight. It seems like a group of good people with a lot to offer.