To all you Bowyers...

I'm in desperate need of some assistance here...

As you all know, I reside in the Merry Land of OZ. That's Australia, in case you're wondering if I just skipped my meds... :D

I'm eagerly trying to complete my first self bow; 60" with slightly recurved tips.

It was to great horror that I found that the typical Aussie hardware store wood (usually Tasmanian Oak or Victorian Ash which aren't in fact Oak or Ash) isn't in any way suitable for bowmaking.

So, anyone out there know what Australian Hardwoods can be used? One carpenter I know suggested Blue Gum, but another guy said it might be too hard...

Any and all suggestions are welcome!

Thanks!

Hello,
so as I m bowmaker by trade now, I ll try tow rite you few lines:

1. I wouldnt make recurve as a first project - I would try typical flatbow 68´´ long, 5 inches handle, 2 inches fades, limbs 2 inches wide at the fades and 1/2 inch tips - this is the project you can accomplish during afternoon and it makes good shooting bow and even if you have only sawn wood, it will survive. This is good design for oak, ash and maple.

2. The thing what the carpenter says you is right, this wood can be used, but I would make a longbow (because of weight) from it and you would need to back it, since it is reported that its brittle and doesnt hold the compression well.

3. I would definitelly try to get one of these : red oak, white ash (fraxinus excelsior), MAPLE

4. If you cant get these, you might try companies selling tropicall hardwood floring. Try to get Jatoba, Bubingo, IPE, Wenge or similar wood. These are not good for flatbows, but they make good target tilered longbow. They need to be backed either with hickory, or at least rawhide to prevent splinter raising. Of these you need only about piece 70´´ long, 1X1 inch.

When you get the wood write me an email, I ll send you tutorial what to do.

Hawkwind...others of us might like to see that too! I'd love to hand make a bow worth using on small deer!

:D