To granton or not to granton?

Specifically I am looking at the Victorinox 8" chef. They are available with or without grantons. I thought I would pick one of these up to get me by until I decide on a "nice" chef's knife for me. It would also be something the other cook's in my house could use.

they make it easier to remove some foods when slicing, but overall I haven't noticed a lot of "enhanced performance" in the home setting.
If I was a professional cook/chef, I may be more impressed with them.
If the price is close to the same, it might be worth trying it out - if there is a big difference in price, I wouldn't bother.

Thanks. They aren't very much more and I did read some complaints about food sticking to the plain Victorinix's.

Grantons are thicker behind the edge, and have a much shorter lifetime. And look awful.

Also it's worth noting that so-called "granton" edges are NOT true Granton Knives-style edges. The "fluting" of the blade extends all the way to the cutting edge on true Grantons, and they alternate side to side with the terminal wall of one side aligning with the initial wall of the next on the side opposite.

N24622E.jpg

I use a Granton edge curved boning knife - Messermeister.

The alternating grinds result in effectively a thinner edge
geometry while retaining strength.

I really like it.

I do also have a Granton edge flexible smoked salmon slicer,
I buy my smoke salmon sliced now, so it doesn't get used much.

I don't bother so much with my general purpose knives,
I don't find that food sticks to my Victorinox chef knives at all.