Tomahawk vs Kukri?

I know this prolly goes somewhere else, but being as hows its more of a general question it felt appropriate here.

Anyways, this could be debated forever, so some parameters. Basic hiking, camping, some survival stuff.

Thanks for your time.

I am by no means an expert, but you can do so much more and varied tasks with a Kukri. As far as i can tell, tomahawks are good for chopping (but a hatchet probably does that better) or fighting (if you lived 200 years ago).

Kukri all they way!

If I am doing trail clearing, I think the kukri is quite superior. For general camp chores, I could use either. More a matter of personal preference there.

DancesWithKnives

If both were of top notch in quality, built with the intended task in mind, and used by a skilled person -I would call it a draw.

however, the environments that they are used in may change that.

A khuk is better for khuki tasks. A tomahawk is better for tomahawky tasks.

Not all khuks are the same and not all hawks are the same. For example, a 1lb vtac does not have much in common with a 4lb chopping Khuk and a large work-oriented tomahawk doesn't have much in common with a lightweight martial-arts oriented khuk like the kobra.

I like a blade with a large cutting area so for my personal preferences a khuk is a better fit.

really depends on where you are if i was surrounded by jungle or soft woods idd likely like a khukri but if you are around hard woods you probably want a saw an axe or a hawk

The Crocodile #71870 machete made in the UK can pretty much do it all.

Other thana mid sized utility blade, I used a khukri for EVERYTHING in the woods. That is, until a piece of cedar took a bite out of it. I bought a Ranger RD Hawk as a trial replacement. I got it late in the season so I haven't put the hawk through it's paces yet, HOWEVER, it seems less functional so far. I wrote that off as learning curve.

So informally:
1. Hawk is ALOT tougher, but less useful.