Tops or Esee?

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gear, Survival Equipment & More' started by animalinstinct, Nov 8, 2017.

1. animalinstinct

animalinstinct

Sep 4, 2017
    I am getting a new knife for myself this Christmas. I am looking for something to use while I'm camping. I want something in the 4-5 in range that is stainless. All of my knives are carbon steel, and I want to try something stainless. I am stuck between the Esee 4 in 440c and the Tops B.O.B. in 154CM. I am leaning towards the Tops, mainly for the scandi grind, but am a little concerned with the 154cm being brittle. BTW the Tops is about as much as my budget will allow. Any ideas/opinions would be greatly appreciated as I'm a noob. Thanks in advance!

2. neeman

neeman

Apr 5, 2007
    I am quite underwhelmed by the BOB (very polite)
    The 'scandi' grind is just a convex edge backed by a saber grind, it is just too far away from a scandi
    It is a heavy knife, and too short to use the weight for chopping, thick enough but too short for battening thicker rounds, and too heavy for fine work

I completely displaced the BOB by a Becker BK 16, a much lighter field knife

I have the Terävä Jääkäripuukko, 140 mm (5.5") in stainless steel
    https://www.varusteleka.com/en/product/terava-jaakaripuukko-stainless-steel/56525

It is a superb field knife as tough as nails and holds a edge for ever
    The Scandi has a small secondary bevel, that you can sharpen out over time to come to a zero edge
    but the secondary bevel strengthens the edge
    the spine is sharp for fire matches
    The handle a molded rubber is very comfortable
    The dangler sheath is solid leather and has a strong plastic insert that holds the knife very well

this is the 110 cm knife

And all for $65!

you can wait for the 110 (4.3") to come into stock, but it has been a long time

See comparison review 11:30 minute

Last edited: Nov 8, 2017
    vba, Lapedog and animalinstinct like this.
  3. neeman

neeman

Apr 5, 2007