Trouble with the whole process

Hello, I am new to forging.
I had a few different pieces of old steel I've been playing around with, my father in law assured me that they could be hardend, and I can shape it into a pretty good looking knife. No matter what I do though to try and harden it, has failed, but not for lack of trying. I will not give up...
That being said, I decided to go to a local metal supermarkets, and they had a nice piece of 1075 steel for me. It's deff thick enough, I don't rem the exact number but it is thicker than 3/16ths. And it 3 inches wide and 4 ft long... I want to make a nice kitchen knife for my old man .. I have tried to do a ton of reading and online research, but I spent $100 on this piece and to be frank, I don't want to mess it up! I have so many ideas and no dought that I could figure it out, but Ive decided that the best thing to do was to ask for help. After reading so much on this site I thought I would just sign up and ask for help ...

I don't even know if I should just cut this thing out and go through the process, (which I'm still not completely sure what the heck I'm doing, and getting very frustrated)... and then just grind it and put a handle on it, or if I should just cut a chunk off and smack it around until it looks like what I want..... (It's so nice and straight that I don't know if I should just do little or no forging?)
I'm making this knife for my dad, I've never really made anything like this for him b4 and he is my Hero, and I want to try and humbly show him how much his time has ment to me, and how skilled of a man he raised ...
If there is anyone who has the time to spare and explain this to me I would so greatly appreciate it ..

Forging holds no benefit over stock removal as far as the quality of the finished knife. It just adds another degree of complexity to a process you are unfamiliar with.
I suggest you find a piece of 1/8" 1075, 1080, or 1084 steel. Lay out your pattern and grind/file the blade.