Trying to get things a little edgy

Alright well I've been practicing with my sharpmaker for quite some time... and can get a pretty wicked edge on almost all my knives.

My question is, should I spring and get the ultra fine stones? Or try out stropping?

I've read that using the ultra fine stones can make the edge so thin that it'll be brittle, and I don't want that, but maybe I read wrong? What are your experiences with the ultra fine stones?

I've also read that stropping can make the edge beautiful and like a mirror, but wouldn't it make the edge just as brittle? Could I strop in place of the ultra fine stones or vice versa?

I'm relatively new to sharpening so... any input is appreciated.

The stones won't make anything brittle....if it was brittle it was this way from the factory. If you change the angle of attack on the blade by reprofiling, then yes, you could make things want to chip, but that has nothing to do with the stones.

I say get the xxf stone and the strop...or at least some 1500 grit paper from the auto store and the strop.

Thin and brittle= No, sharp and beautiful= yes. The UF stones will leave a very high polish with almost no need for stropping but it may take a bit to get the feel for them. Some people have a hard time at first because the stone is so fine, you must work on it longer and be very precise in your motion for it to be effective. Stropping is a must IMO and it can take the place of the UF stone, but if you use the UF stone before stropping you will spend less time on the strop and have a better looking and sharper edge in the end. Get both, the UF stones are cheap and so is a strop.

Diamond paste works the best with stropping, it cuts faster and works on any steel, this is what I use http://www.classicshaving.com/catalog/item/522944/482843.htm
and for leather http://www.woodcraft.com/family.aspx?FamilyID=4242
and here is a place for UF stones http://www.knivesplus.com/SPYDERCO-SHARPENERS.HTML