TSProf vs. KME systems.

lock1888

Gold Member
Good morning all.

As the title suggests I am looking at the KME and TSProf sharpening systems.
I am pretty much sold on the KME deluxe kit. It has everything I would want as far as stones and honing material.
My question is: is anyone familiar with both?
I only want to have to purchase 1 system and hope that system lasts well… a life time (with the exception of replacing worn stones).
Anyway. What are your thoughts on these two systems?

Thank you for taking the time.

Last edited:
I was just looking at both systems and KME looks like a toy from a Kinder Egg compare to lets say TSProof Pioneer kit with 5 diamond stones.

If you can afford it, TSPROF is a much better and higher quality system, and of course much much more pricey. That being said I've been using the KME for a few years now with diamond plates and I'm really happy with it.

TSPROF is a higher quality system and there are far more compatible stones on the market. The larger stones also remove material faster. If it is within your budget, I'd definitely go TSPROF over KME. That said, the KME is a great system also and if TSPROF is too costly you will definitely be able to get great edges off the KME.

I have the TSProf K03.

Lucky it comes with two straight clamps. That can only be used on wider, flat blades.

Hollow ground? Takes another kind of clamp. $100

Thin small blades like a Case folder? Guess what? Another clamp is required. $100

Want to do a concave edge? Yeah buddy. $100

Here's the deal with the k03. As delivered, it has everything to be able to sharpen 70% of knives. However, to have a system that'll do it all. Using their basic diamond stones. You'll be looking at ~$1500.

Add another $500 for cbn stones.