Want to make my own straight...

So, I have a couple knives under my belt now and have recently gotten into straight razor shaving and am trying to decide whether or not I should attempt making a couple razors... The big hesitation is my setup/materials: I'm a med student living in an apartment with a simple setup on the balcony and I wanted to have a small grinder (read: not a 2x72 quite yet) that would run off 110V so I went with a 1x42 Delta which means I don't really have any way to do a proper hollow at this point which should be my final answer to the quest. Anyway, I still can't stop thinking about it. The other hesitation is that I don't have a metal bandsaw and the only steel I have right now is 1.5" x 3/16" 1080 barstock so I would have to grind off a ton of material. I don't know if I'm writing this out to talk myself out of it or not but I'm hoping for maybe some of your thoughts even though I think I know what most of them will say! Well, maybe anyway.

Any comments, concerns, thoughts are very welcomed.

If you don't have a bandsaw (I don't have one either), there's always the drill then hacksaw between the holes method of cutting out your blanks. It works for me.

I can't help you with your hollow grinding dilemma. That's the main reason I waited to get my KMG before making a razor. I guess you could always make a true super-wedge, but honing would be a pain.

many fine pieces of cutlery were made with a hacksaw & good file work. remember some can do as much with a teaspoon as others can do with a D6 catepillar. dennis. [the desire to accomplish surpasses all the fancy tools]

Keep in mind, also, that fine knives AND razors -- many of them in high-demand to this day -- were made before the invention of modern power tools. Both belt grinders and bandsaws suitable for knife making are actually quite modern developments.