Waterproofing strike-anywhere matches?

I finally found a few big boxes of strike-anywhere matches. I was about to load up my little waterproof match containers when I decided I might as well waterproof the matches first (which I've never done before).

I melted a little bit of parafin in an aluminum tin and dipped the matches up to about 1/3 their length.

Then I decided to try them out. When striking one on the striking area of the box they came in, I noticed the waterproofed matches sparked, then took a moment to slowly catch, then burned very well. Un-waterproofed versions struck up to full flame immediately. Hmmmm....

I decided to try them under conditions more like in the field. It had been raining all afternoon. I stepped out my back door and struck an unwaterproofed match on the brick wall of my house (under the eaves and dry bricks). I figured the brick would be more like a rock --albeit a very rough one-- I might use if out in the woods. It lit right up. Then I tried a waterproofed one. It sparked but didn't light. A second attempt removed all the coating off the end of the match... no chance of lighting it. A second and third waterproofed match produced similar results... the waterproofed matches wouldn't light; just one feeble spark on the first strike followed by the loss of the tip coating on the second strike.

I ended up filling my match cases with a 50/50 mix of waterproofed and un-waterproofed matches.

I just wanted to share that bit of my experience....

Stay sharp,
desmobob

I remember usin' clear nail polish as a kid to waterproof matches, I'll have to try it again, IIRC it worked pretty well.

Now I just use an quality water proof match case.