Waterproofing tent - seams only or all surfaces?

I went on a three-day/two-night camping trip last week, and the weather took a soggy turn the first night. My brother and I each brought the same tents we'd used at the same site back in the spring, when it rained twice but for shorter duration overall. On the previous trip, we didn't get any water in our tents, but this time it came up through the floor of both.

I'm still pretty new at camping, so forgive my newb question, but should I just focus on sealing the seams, or should I use a spray-on waterproofing treatment on the entire tent?

Seam sealer worked pretty well for the backpacking weight/size tent my wife and I use when we go camping. We've only got caught in the rain a few times, but it did its job just fine. YMMV.

A few years ago, 2 friends and myself went camping. As it turned out we had all just bought new tents. Friend 1 trusted his tent as is, friend 2 used seam sealer, I chose to use "Footlocker" boot spray. Friend 1 was soaked, friend 2 not soaked but his tent leaked. Mine was dry as a bone. Let both use the spray for the second night, it rained even harder but everyone was dry this time. I bought the spray after the sales guy sprayed some on one of those crappy brown paper towels and poured water on it, the water beaded up and ran off the sprayed portion and of coursed immediately soaked into the unsprayed section. It's like Franks red hot, I put that sh** on everything!