Welding helmet advice?

weo

Hope this is on topic as it is shop related....

I have a 6-7 year old Cornwell Tools welding helmet that I think may be going. The last few times I've used it, I've gotten some bright flashes that almost blind me temporarily, sometimes when I first strike the arc, and sometimes as I'm laying down the bead.

There's a local welding/fab shop that went out of business and is going to auction off their assets. The have 3 what look like new-in-package auto darkening helmets up for auction: 2 TEKZ and 1 Firepower brand.
WWYD? purchase a replacement lens for my Cornwell, or try to get one of these, and if so which brand is better?

Thanks and enjoy the first day of spring.

I don't often recommend harbor freight but they're welding helmets are great and cheap (low cost).

I have one but I'm only an occasional welder. A guy I work with is certified on all kinds of welding and he prefers his HF helmet to his Snap-on

I LOVE those auto darkening helmets!!! I grew up welding with the old fashion lenses. I remember the first time I welded with an auto-darkening lenses back in '90s. I finally was able to get one from HF for decent price. Been using it for a few years now and it's been working good. For hobby use, can't beat it for the price.

I just wanted to mention that I always view BF using the "New Posts" search, and I saw this thread title and thought it said "Wedding Helmet Advice." I was a little disappointed when I opened it. :(

The problem with a business going out and auctioning the inventory is you usually have to buy all the inventory, or large lots of it. It unlikely they will auction it off piece by piece. They may sell all the helmets in the store in one batch.

The difference between high and low end is flash time (the time it takes to dim) and fit .Better head bands.That and cool flames. WB

It unlikely they will auction it off piece by piece.