What are the uses of the Lum Chinese folder?

I am not trying to start a fight but I would like to know what the Lum was made to do. I know it looks good it a knife case but what is the proposed use of the knife?

A general utility blade?
Fancy dress blade?

I just don't see what it is designed to do.

Waiting for the answer behind a solid object (hopefully bulletproof),
Zach

Well, I'm not a knife designer or an expert of any kind, but the Chinese folder was designed around the long time working pattern used by the (!!) Chinese. So, it's a utility knife, at the very least. As with any utility knife, the uses are limited only by your imagination.
Hope this helps.
wink.gif

------------------
Buck Collectors Club Member # 572
Dedicated ELU
Talonite fan
Knifeknut(just ask my wife)

The Chinese have used the design for a few hundred years(I think). So if it works for them, it works for me.
smile.gif

I think I'll just sit and look at mine(when I finally get one).
smile.gif

Blades

Hi Fight. I have to agree with previous comments. The general shape has served in larger form for cutting brush like a machete, in smaller form as an all purpose folding knife.

Perhaps because it is different in appearance and shape to your experience, it is perceived as odd. However, I'm sure many of the modern models of folders (Clipits in particular) were odd when being introduced to a different set of memory inputs.

Bob Lum, my wife Gail, Vince (R&D/Eng) and I used the models extensively before going into production. We found them to be a highly functional shape both for use & carry.

sal

The main thing I wanted to know was if it was built toward one particular task.

I actually like the knife and the blade shape. It is a lot different than all the other knives in the line up. I just wanted to know a little more about the reasons behind the design.

Thanks.