What are your 5 most commonly used hand tools?

Macchina

Gold Member
I started my career as a machinist and machine builder and acquired a lot of tools in the process.

I’m now a Senior Design Engineer and while I still build prototypes I find myself using tools less and less lately but when I do use them I don’t want to dig through my giant roller box so I collect the tools I most use and have been collecting these tools in a tool caddy because chances are I’ll need it again soon if I just used it. Over time I have about 15 pounds of tools I use often and haven't been to my tool chest in a while. This is my current caddy of most used tools I'm looking to size down:

fOCSKvC.jpg

rhgRYYY.jpg

I'm working to take this tool kit and replicate my most used tools in a smaller format than I used as a machinist. For example my 8” pair of Channellock Needle Nose are great for general work, but a 5.5” Knipex pair works better for what I need to do (precision work) now. A socket set is handy and I keep one close however the amount of sockets (English and Metric) to carry to hit every screw gets heavy and a 6” adjustable wrench will work on almost everything I need it to as I tend to not be breaking free rusted bolts as much. I’d like to get this tool kit down to as few tools as possible to handle 80% of the things I need a tool kit for. If I need a drill/driver or a hammer or a belt sander I will go get that tool. If I need a small repair I’d like this kit to do that. Aside from hand tools, I use the small tubes of oil, grease, super glue, from this kit quite often. Tape, zip ties, and alcohol pads are often used quite a bit.

My 5 most common portable hand tools to use are:

• 6” digital caliper. This is my #1 used item by a long shot. I use a Mitutoyo Absolute Digimatic.
  • ¼” bit holding screwdriver and bit set (Philips, straight, metric/SAE allen hex, and Torx). I use a Wera 317 Bit Holder.
  • Combination plier with a very hard wire cutter. I use a Knipex 03-160