What brands are copycats

Since I'm new to any seriousness about knife collecting, is there any listing of knife brands that are rip-offs to avoid?

I'm a bang-for-buck kind of guy when it comes to this. That may change some day, but while I'm in my growing phase I'm not at all interested in spending hundreds on learning lessons. I still don't know what I absolutely like yet, let alone why I like it or how to identify and repeat in others.

So far I've come to learn to stay away from SanRenMu. Okay, fair enough, I heard you guys, considered all points and succumbed to the rationale. I also just saw a posting from another person about an Amazon brand I've come across a lot and considered several times, this Efangrow (I think). Saw that it was banned for being a copy brand, added that to my avoid list.

So I'm guessing I can add Ganzo, which is too bad because I really liked their knives I've tried.

I've seen around a couple brands, Y-Start & LW, as cheapies and I want to try one of each. Is this a no go as well? I don't want to believe that all things Chinese are equal, but I don't want to step on the toes of American businesses, ever. I'm almost ashamed I ever defended that point.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Listing cloners by name gives them free advertising, especially since this forum is heavily indexed by search engines. You don't need a list to figure out who is selling clones, just look at their product lines.

While I can understand where you are coming from, I doubt this topic flies here since it could either be construed as clone PR or turns into a mud slinging contest. Best is usually just buy from supporting vendors who just don't carry clones.

Listing cloners by name gives them free advertising, especially since this forum is heavily indexed by search engines. You don't need a list to figure out who is selling clones, just look at their product lines.