What exactly is micarta ?

I have a knife with a micarta handle and it looks like a form of fiberglass to me. I don't know if it would fall in the carbon fiber family or G10. I have seen similar materal like micarta used in berings and bushings. Mostly in the form of washers and spacers. So does anybody know what micarta is? I know, I'm a real noob.

Thanks,
Chris

Micarta is not a fiberglass, it is a polymer, cotton cloth laminate. G-10 is a polymer, glass fiber laminate, which is a type of fiberglass. Carbon fiber is of course a polymer, carbon fiber laminate. All of these materials have a great deal in common. The difference being the material used in combination with the polymer.

The similarity between micarta, G10, and CF is that they all consist of a base material saturated with a resin. The differences are in both the base materials and the types of resin used. Micarta uses a variety of materials, usually either a form of paper or cloth (such as linen or canvas) and is saturated with a phenolic resin, then heat cured. G10 is one of a number of similar materials that use fiberglass as the base material and, I beleive, a chemically cured epoxy resin which hardens without heat. In the case of G10, I believe the fiberglass is in the form of woven cloth. CF, as the name implies uses carbon fibers as the base material and again, a chemically cured epoxy resin. Micarta is the "oldest" of the three, but it has its advantages in certain applications. For some reason it always feels warmer to the touch to me than either of the other two.