what is a scandi?

m. wohlwend

BANNED
I studied the Mora from Sweden. Here is what I discovered.
2011-02-25_16-42-28_273.jpg

Here is a measurement from the top of the grind to the edge.

2011-02-25_16-43-01_621.jpg

Here is the same .320 at the tip. It is obvious the angle of the grind changes from the rear of the blade to the tip.

How does this work when it comes to sharpening? Because mora's are HOLLOWGROUND. Not flat ground.

And what's with this mythical 12.5 degree grind angle?

Here is a photo of a 123 block clamped to the blade. I used a height scribe to make a straight line across the front of the block.

2011-02-25_17-25-53_57.jpg

Woops... look at that not even 12 degrees. More like 10......

I have known this since 2007. Just the first time I bothered to post about it.

I have used the 12.5 degree guide. I have 3 sitting in my shop. They make a knife that cuts good.

My knives cut BETTER when I grind them around 10 degrees, leave the edge around 1/32 of an inch, then convex the lower part of the grind to the edge.

These things that I have discovered about the Mora have influenced the way I make a "scandi".

As you may notice, this does not follow conventional wisdom that floats around on the net. Can't help that. Just know what I have observed in my shop. And I have always made knives my way..... :)

Sweet and interesting, I can't really make out the measurement that you did, what is it? Do you think the distance from the edge to the top of the grind matters?

Do you use a jig or a fixture to make your knives at 10 degrees then and then convex the edge?

Mark you make some awesome knives and I love my little green EDC. Have my heart set on a scandi from you.