What is it with plain edges?

So Ive been around here for a little while and I notice alot of you collectors and users prefer a plain edge? Is there a reason for this, other than longer cutting surface? Am I missing something?

I notice I seem to like serrations, allthough Im not sure why.

Serrations suck to sharpen. Also plain edges are better for slicing which is what a lot of people need their knives to do. Serrations are great for sawing though. So if I'm out cutting fishing line or rope I'll grab a serrated knife. Great to have an option like that sometimes.

Other than sawing trees or extremely crusty hard bread, plain edge for me.

im a slicer by profession, so my answer is biased.

Although after hearing so many testimonies of serrated I might just keep one in my car for whatever need arises.

I love sharpening my own knives using water stones so serrated is a pain for that too.

Same reasons for me, pain to sharpen, not as slicy...

And I don't like the look of them at all.

Easier to sharpen, doesn't catch or rip.

Serrations have their uses though, if someone doesn't sharpen their knife often (or at all) it will still be useable longer. Cuts certain things much better. Doesn't simply slide if dull.

For quick and dirty cutting serrated is the way to go...plain edge is more finesse....serrated is a PITA to sharpen....plain edge is easier....serrated will give a rough quick cut...plain will give a razor smooth shave.......so next time you go to the barber which razor will you ask him to bring the serrated or smooth.....JMO

combo edge doesn't do much for serration or plain edge, the only one that does work for me is the Victorinox Trekker.

I definately prefer plain edge. If I need to saw, I'll use a saw. Doesn't have to be big either, I'm comfortable with the Leatherman saws.

If you're into serrated edges, check out Spyderco's Spydie-edge.