When is it time to retire a knife?

Knives wear out rather easy for me. The edge
gets chipped and dented, the tip is bent/chipped
by stabbing hard objects and scratches appear
all over the blade.

Take the 425M steel Gerber Ez-Out for example.
I have had it for only a month or so, and the blade is scratched all over, the tip is chipped, and the edge has been worn out. The
handle and lock are still intact though.

Since I am only a student and have so little
money to spend on knives, I have to make the
best of the knives that I have because I can
not quickly buy another as a replacement.
Should I send it back for repairs and pay
$13 dollars for a blade replace on a $30
knife plus $10 round trip of UPS for a total
of 23 dollars? Or should I just retire it
and save my money for a knife that wears
out less easy?
When is it time to retire your knife?

Chang.
(I liked my EZ-Out a LOT. I think it opened
really really well for a 30 dollar knife and
it was well worth the price. I just wish that
425M steel was more durable and didn't need
so much sharpening because I am horrible at
sharpening.)

Chang,

A buddy of mine got the same knife. Used it for about the same period of time with the same results. He was pretty bummed. For $35, that blade is available in ATS-34. I bought two fo them for a couple of teenagers I know. They have beat the devil out of them and they keep on ticking.

If you like that knife, maybe you want to look at the ATS-34 version. It's no benchmade or Spyderco. But it is a pretty good $35 knife.

------------------
Bubba

P.S. Before everyone asks, I got them at Smokey Mountain Knife Works for that price. I'm sure several of the other dealers here on the forums have similar prices.

[This message has been edited by Bubba (edited 21 November 1998).]

Chang,