Where are these swords from?

Hello dear community :)

I could buy these swords cheap and would now like to know where they come from and which era.
Maybe fakes?
Does anyone know?

Thanks a lot

Last edited:
You need a good close up photo of the tang where the swordsmith's name is engraved.

I wouldn't call them fakes since they are kinda sword-like, but I would call them very bad reproductions. #3 even had some sort of etching that has been badly polished away.
You want to know where they're from? -China

I'm no expert, and I could be wrong, but I don't see any noticeable hamon on any of those blades. A hamon is the differential heat treat "line" created by the clay during the heat treat process. The "line" goes along the length of the blade on a true, forged, samurai sword. The line is often wavy to some degree, but not always.

It could just be the picture quality, the distance from the camera, and/or my aging eyes, but I don't see any.

If I were going to place a bet I'd wager that they are decorative pieces. But I wouldn't bet more than I could afford to lose ;) .

I am not a collector of Japanese swords, originals are too expensive. I have handled a number, and there are several orders of magnitude Chinese replicas on the market than original Japanese swords. I will say, not every Japanese sword is master class workmanship, I handled one, that the Iwo Jima Veteran personally took off the body of the Japanese Officer whom "we got him too!". I knew this gentleman for a couple of decades, so I know he was not blowing smoke up my orifices. Sammy brought it, and other items, back in his duffle bag. His sword had better workmanship than the fake Chinese replicas I have handled, but, it was not perfect.