Which Bowie knives are best?

I'm looking for a bowie knife with a 9-12 inch blade for under 175 dollars. Does anyone have suggestions?

Allen Blade mades large bowie styled blades in that price range last time I checked. He would be worth talking to.

-Cliff

Have you checked out the Camillus-Becker Knife and Tool (Fisk designed)Magnum Camp.
Great knife with a GOOD price!

djbcqc,

You might want to look at Newt Livesay's Sandbar Bowie. The basic model is $150.00, and Newt makes a mean knife as well.

Hank

I think the Western bowie W49 is the best looking bowie I have ever laid my eyes on.

I gotta second Allen Blade in this price range. I have a 10" Combat Patrol Bowie soon to arrive. Differential heat treated 5160 blade with temper line, black micarta handle and single stainless guard. The Kydex sheaths of Allen's kick ass as well. All this from a custom maker for exactly a whopping $175. Can't beat it (oh, but I will sure as hell try to
biggrin.gif
)

I suggest the Busse Basic #9. Best price is around $175. This is a great performer. Do a search on it; I think you'll like it.

If Allen Blade will do a flat ground, distal tapered, differentially tempered (zone tempered he says) Bowie in 5160 or 1095 for $175 or under, I think you hit the jackpot on a recommendation... as long as you know you are getting a carbon steel and not stainless piece.

The Cold Steel Trailmaster is in this price range, but the thing is a monstrosity at 5/16" thick...heavy heavy heavy.

Allen says he'll do 1/4" or 3/16" stock. Until you hold a nice distally tapered Bowie and see how light a big, tough knife can really be for any reasonable big knife task, don't go buy a big behemoth knife that is heavy to carry around UNLESS chopping is your very primary task. Look hard at the 3/16" stock distally tapered Allen Blade.