Which steel to use?

I am new to making knives and I am struggling to decide on which steel to use for different knives. I understand that each steel has its pro's and con's and some steels are better for some applications then others. The problem I am running into is finding enough information to determine definitively on which to use. Any information on where I can find more answers would be extremely helpful.

I have already tooled out two patterns of throwing knives that I am ready to start making final products of and I'm ready to buy steel. I know I'm going to want a tougher steel rather then more wear resistant and I was considering going with O1 tool steel, but I'm afraid that it will be too hard and have a tendency to snap as I beat the knife up. But I also am preparing to make a survival knife that I think that O1 would be perfect for. As always any insight on this is greatly appreciated.

Lilguy

This request would be better answered in the Shop Talk sub forum.
If I was making a throwing knife though I would look at S7. Extreme toughness with a little bit of edge holding.

The answer depends largely on your plan and equipment for heat treating. Many different steels will work, just depends on what you have to work them with.

We suffer from an overload of choices these days. Too often we think of specific alloys as being "the only right choice" for certain blades. There's some truth in that - certainly many alloys really excel at particular tasks, and some are very poor choices for other blades - but think about this for a second: relatively few of the steels commonly and successfully used for many different knives were ever designed to be used in hand-held knives. It just so happens that the properties developed for much heavier/more demanding industrial applications carry over well.

The answer depends largely on your plan and equipment for heat treating. Many different steels will work, just depends on what you have to work them with.