White Oak

Fiddleback

Knifemaker
Do you guys use Oak? This piece is quartersawn and curly stabalized White Oak. I love the creamy color of it. Oak is pretty if you can find it that way. I have 20 1' x 10" planks of Red Oak that is curly and quartersawn that I need to cut up and have stabalized and dyed. The rays don't pick up the color and black, blue, red, or brown dye is very striking. I was kinda proud of this knife, so I decided to post a pic of it here. I haven't done that in a while. I hope it is still acceptable. If I had tapered the tang on this one, I would have saved it to get judged next September. Its 01 though. It would have to be touched up for sure. I'm thinking of sending it to get a decent photo done. I've never done that before either. Who do y'all use for that?

The knife is convex ground from 5/32" thick 01 stock. The handle is stabalized curly quartersawn White Oak over natural canvas micarta liners with a white g-10 pinstripe, and natural canvas micarta pins and bullseye liner. The blade is 4" long and the OAL is 8.5". I designed this model after the old Kephart knives. I added some sex appeal to the shape. The knife old Horace designed was boring.

20121012102_7510-vi.jpg

20121012102_7511-vi.jpg

As you can see, I have not figured out how to make a knife shine in a pic. This is a recropped closeup of the handle.

201210121-vi.jpg

I have not used oak, but if I came across a piece like that I wouldn't hesitate. That's very handsome :thumbup:

If I had tapered the tang on this one, I would have saved it to get judged next September.

Are you hinting about a certain Guild show in KY? If so, go for it.

I submitted my application for the Knifemakers Guild, and they accepted my application. I will show them knives next September. I've started practicing my tapered tangs. I do 6 or so a year just to be sure I can do then, but they have to be spot on by next year.