Whittling, draw knives and fine detail carving

Hey...this is my first post on the forums :)
Can anyone recommend a thread to put me in the right direction to find information about fine detail carving knives etc.

Thank-yooo

Ahh that’s perfect too, thank you so much.
I’m attempting to carve designs into stripped down walking sticks, it’s not so easy working on a rounded surface!
I’ve never used any carving tools before so just looking for guidance on which ones are the better selection to have to hand. Usually just persevere with my little Opinels but they aren’t quite right for the detail I’d like to achieve - some day. Need a shorter blade to start with I think.

Flex cut make a decent array of dedicated carving knives that are relatively affordable. It might be worth checking those out.

I like to rough in the initial cuts with a scandi grind, then use a Swiss Army knife with small pen blades, along with the awl for holes. Traditional knives are popular for whittling, you may also want to peruse through the traditional forum to see what’s available.

I have a lot of carving knives from different makers. Here's an old photo that show some of them:

UDiKBTV.jpg

I prefer working with a straight blade, even for carving round things, and my favorite carving knife is a cheap folder from Cold Steel, the Tuff Lite (and it's smaller sibling, the Tuff Lite Mini):

3tbo2Ds.jpg

I use a sanding block to break all the edges but the cutting edge (e.g. along the blade spine, along the finger choil, and all sharpish bits on the plastic handle). I also wrap the ones I use most, they currently look like this:

yiDLpdf.jpg

Get something like a Mora Woodcarving 106 http://morakniv.se/en/product/woodcarving-106/ or make something similar yourself (buy a similar blade and put your own handle on it, but buying a complete knife is probably a good start).