• The rules for The Exchange can be found here. Please read and follow them. Stop using Paypal Friends & Family and follow our best practices to prevent getting ripped off or having a bad deal.

WHOA this is screwed cold steel sucks

We certainly do have a litigious society. It is too bad companies have to try to compete with each other in court but it seems to be the norm these days. I'm no lawyer but I'd put my money on Cold Steel for this one. I don't like their tactics but I suspect their action is legally sound since their trademark apparently precedes that of ATC. It will be interesting to watch.

Thank you Dave.

Fred...that is a fair assessment, and I appreciate your remarks here. However, allow me to develop a few more thoughts regarding this issue for everyone's benefit to make it more understandable.

1) A Trademark does not always entitlement make. In short, if you don't use it after you file for it, you lose it. Had Cold Steel sufficiently developed the brand identification, "American Tomahawk Company" after their filing, to the extent that the purchasing public identified that name or mark with Cold Steel, we would have been fools to fight for the same name at the time. Additionally, American Tomahawk Company, LLC was not even aware of Cold Steel's registration until its dispute. Peter LaGana had never privately licensed the name previously. Cold Steel's application for the mark, while lawful at the time, is suspect at this time, in terms of their recent use of it.