Why have a RICASSO?

"The flat area directly in front of the handle is called the RICASSO, and is the space between the end of the bevels/cutting edge and the handle."

I am very new at making a knife. I have seen the ricasso as part of many knife designs. But I am thinking about make a small utility knife as one of my first efforts without this feature.

Please tell me what is the purpose of the ricasso. I assume it have a time proven purpose or it wouldn't be in so many designs.

Thanks in advance...

LDB

Last edited:
Seems to me it makes the edge more accessible to the whetstone without bitching up the end of the guard or the handle bolsters, plates.

Its the place where transition happens; both forward to the point and back along the handle or tang. If a knife is made that incorporates a ricasso; the ricasso is finished first while the blade and tang are ground relative to the ricasso. If its not done in this order you will struggle from beginning to end.

There are many ways to grind a blade and they do not all involve the use of a ricasso.

Good luck with the knife.:thumbup:

With swords and daggers the fingers were often wrapped around the guard .The ricasso permitted this [ where the fingers gripped the blade] without danger of cutting the fingers .

With swords and daggers the fingers were often wrapped around the guard .The ricasso permitted this [ where the fingers gripped the blade] without danger of cutting the fingers .

I have read this and heard this many times, but why not make the ricasso part of the handle?

I like ricassos because they show off my beautiful plunge lines....
I hate ricassos because they force me to make beautiful plunge lines...