Why thw bad rap for Dymondwood?

I'm just a newbie maker and enjoy Dymondwood. It is very inexpensive (tuition + girlfriend= small budget), easy to work, stabilized, etc. AND with the funky colors I found a handle material to match my girlfriend's hot pink punch buggy! I'll keep using it, although I love micarta the most. I was just wondering if it is frosts cutlery or what that brings Dymondwood its bad rap!

------------------
"Come What May..."

Crayola,
Basically it is stabilized, coloured plywood. It has no figure or grain qualities like a "real" wood does. No character. I have seen it used on rifles, as a matter of fact I have a .22 target rifle that has a sort of dymondwood as a stock (solid light brown colour). I suppose Ruger couldn't find a piece of micarta that big
smile.gif

------------------
C Wilkins
"We sharpened the points of our bayonets, and gave a razor-edge to our bowies, that the extermination we intended should be sudden and complete."
--1861, Henry Morton Stanley, in Arkansas as the Civil War began.

It's just my opinion Crayola, but to me it looks 'cheesey'. Not much more to say about it because that says it all. But, how the hell would I know?

[This message has been edited by MaxTheKnife (edited 12-12-2000).]

I like dymondwood because it is cheap and some of the colors look decent. For kitchen knives, it looks nice. Works and polished easily. I think it is great for non knife nuts because of all of the colors available and its low cost. For people who know and appreciate good materials and know that they cost extra, I like Micarta and woods. Also, Frost Cutlery uses dymondwood constantly and thats how it started to get its bad rap.

It comes on all of those HIGH End knives from Pakistan
biggrin.gif

Your actual savings over REAL wood is about $2 per set of scales.
Speaking For myself, I wouldn't feel right about putting all that time and effort into making a nice blade. Then have it coming out looking like some cheapo import.