Will pine work for a knife handle?

I have salvaged some pine lumber from an old tree fort (it isn't rotten because it was a shelf on the inside) and was wondering if it could be used in a handle. I know everywhere says to use hardwood, but why won't softwood work for handles? Also, could good hardwood be found at a place like home depot, or is it all pine there too? I am new to knifemaking, sorry if this is a noob question.

I have salvaged some pine lumber from an old tree fort (it isn't rotten because it was a shelf on the inside) and was wondering if it could be used in a handle. I know everywhere says to use hardwood, but why won't softwood work for handles? Also, could good hardwood be found at a place like home depot, or is it all pine there too? I am new to knifemaking, sorry if this is a noob question.

Lowe's carries oak boards in small sizes that would be appropriate for your needs.

Home depot sells maple boards

Also look at the hardwood flooring
real hardwood flooring, not laminates

You can buy little samples of nice dense hardwoods

Pine will "work" in that it will give you a handle shape that you can hold on to. Pine will not work in that it won't last long, won't hold up to abuse, and looks boring.

Do you have any cabinet or furniture shops in your area? They might let you come by and dig through their scrap bin for some good hardwood. Maple, Walnut, Cherry, all make good handles.

If you dig through the maple boards at Home Depot, you can usually find some with some nice curl in them. Makes a really pretty knife handle.

Can you make a handle out of pine? Yes you can.
Can you make a good and durable handle out of pine? No you can't

There's more hardwood on ebay then you can imagin.
And it isn't that expensive.
Try searching for "turning blanks" you can get several handles out of them.
Cocobolo and bocote are two beautifull kinds of wood that are durable and not to expensive.