How To Would a belt grinder make sense?

As already mentioned in another post, I started to do also some knife sharpening for friends and neighbors, mostly kitchen knives.

First of all, I am not a pro at all nor do I have any plans to make this a real business. Second, people here in Mexico barely want to spend money for such a service. So this means I neither want nor can charge people a lot of money when doing their knives.

My "problem" now: I get knives for sharpening which, at least in my humble opinion, have been quite messed up by local sharpening services the people used in the past. Please see images below!

My very first knives looking that way I fixed using diamond plates and grinding stones, but that cannot be the solution in a long term. Too slow, too much effort, too much wear of my stones.

My question know: Would this be a task for a belt grinder? If yes, what belt grinder would you recommend?

Herbert

A 1”x 30” would work well for sharpening once you become competent at sharpening on a 1”x 30”. A speed control would make a tremendous difference as well. You will make many mistakes on a powered belt sharpener along the way, how quickly you learn from them is on you.
Belts are consumables and have to be treated as such.

You could possibly find an old school peddle powered stone wheel sharpening setup.

You can sharpen knives many ways(as I’ve witnessed many men from Mexico do). Becoming proficient and economical is the challenge.

You stated Mexico, where exactly if you don’t mind me asking?

Last edited:
A 1”x 30” would work well for sharpening once you become competent at sharpening on a 1”x 30”. A speed control would make a tremendous difference as well. You will make many mistakes on a powered belt sharpener along the way, how quickly you learn from them is on you.
Belts are consumables and have to be treated as such.

You stated Mexico, where exactly if you don’t mind me asking?
Thank you very much for your reply!