You guys are great!

Guys, I just want to say that you are great! I am a noob when it comes to knives but I am really interested in the history of them. I have been looking around on here for a while at the info. I love this site and you guys are great at what you do. I have never been into the hunting game much (fishing is my game) but just about everyone carries some sort of cutting tool including me. Until here recently I really didn't pay much attention to what I was buying just that it would do what I needed. You guys have changed the way I look at these knives. Thank You.:thumbup:

The reason I started this thread here was that I recently was handed a knife from my dad that he said was his grand pa's. I was wanting to see what I could find out about it. I have looked around and can not seem to come up with anything. I would just like to know how old it is and what it was originally designed for. I will get some pictures if needed but they way you guys act you probably won't need them.

It is a single blade and the lock back is up next to the hinge. The blade is a curved blade like a birds beak. The knife is about 4" long closed. It has the usual "Camillus New York USA" on one side and the number 1 on the other side.

Anyone have any idea what I have.

Thanks so much! It looks to be the utility pruner that was made many many years. I can't seem to fined a year they show it with a shackle. They only show them with a cord hole. Was the shackle an option or something?

Your knife is a Camillus Model #1 Hawk Bill Pruning knife (07 pattern). Camillus made them with or without a shackle and with or without a liner lock. The knife was made after WWII as indicated by the model #1. Camillus made this knife before WWII, but it would have a different stamping on the tang and would have a different model number (probably 4 digits).
If you can send a close up photo of the Camillus stamping we can give you an approximate date when the knife was made.
Tom Williams