A fresh start and living a simple life...

Discussion in 'Wilderness & Survival Skills' started by JGON, May 31, 2011.

1. JGON

JGON

Mar 12, 2010
    I am a 28 year old professional who just went through an expensive divorce, I work 55 hours a week to pay my bills, and I never seem to be able to get out of the hole. I'm locked into a lifestyle that I don't necessarily even enjoy, even though many people would consider a good job, a comfortable home, a reliable car, and two days off a week to be the America Dream.

I used to be more comfortable financially in my failed marriage, but my new found freedom came at a price. It was EXPENSIVE to start over, and I'm spending every dime of my paychecks to get caught up. My new boss is turning out to be quite a bitch, and I'm wondering if this is really what I should be doing with my time.

If I am working this much, and at the end of the day I have nothing to show for it that I really care for, why do I do what I do? If I'm not going to have anything to show for it anyway, why not just free myself from the shackles of a modern lifestyle and live a simple life without the financial burdens of a modern American? This may sound radical, and no, it would not be a permanent way to live, but I am honestly considering cashing in everything I own and taking a few essentials with me in a reliable vehicle to see the world. I could bum around this country for quite a while if I stopped here and there to earn a few hundred dollars and then move on.

If you don't hear from me in a while, that's what I did...

JGON

2. SIXFOOTER

SIXFOOTER

Jan 18, 2009
    Divorces are so expensive because they are wirth every penny
    Good Luck with the new life

3. WILLIAM.M

WILLIAM.M Gold Member Gold Member

Apr 14, 2006
    Think about it long and hard--before you do it.

List(on paper) all the good and bad points.

Do not get caught up in the Romance of getting away from it all-without remembering that comes with a price as well.