A good starting Benchmade?

Hello all. I'm still relatively new to knife collecting and am trying to get knives from most of the major manufacturers. So far I've been favoring Spyderco, Kershaw/Zt and Emerson. But I've been wanting a Benchmade now fow a while. I usually favor about 3 1/2 to 4inch blades and no auto's since I can't legally carry them. Any good suggestions?

Griptilian of course!

If you want to spoil yourself right off the bat, buy the 710 in M390!

If you want a good all-around EDC, get a 940!

Contego in cpm-m4 is a goodun
tree.jpg

Last edited:
The Griptillian has been one of the ones I've been looking at the most. I might get the 710,

810, 581, 710 (in M390), Adamas, Rift are my favorites from the Benchmade line, 810 being at the top currently.
IMG_2431.jpg

Don't overlook the 530, it's a great light weight edc. It has a very thin blade, but is more than stout enough as long as you arent trying to pry with it.

Yeah, the Griptillian was my first benchmade. I looove it, it's so smooth, well balanced, super light weight. I'm probably going to get fiance one, too.

I vote for the 943. It's just like the 940, but it has a sharper point.

My first BM was the Griptilian 551. Great 'test the water' knife at a lower price point than others. I just ordered my 4th BM. The Adamas 275

I like the 710 and 940. Either one of those will turn you into a bm fan as soon as you get your paws on it.

Two classics that really speak Benchmade are the 710 and the AFCK. Both are a step up from the grip. M390 steel is probably the best you can do, or maybe M4 if you don't need stainless.