A Paeremes

My new addition is both a traditional pocket knife and a fixed blade.
It also became somewhat of a grail knife for me.

I'm a Hollander, this means I'm Dutch and from the province of South or North Holland in the Netherlands, three of my grandparents were Hollanders as well.

The interesting one, in this case, is my maternal grandfather, his family was originally from Zeeland (the old one).
He owned an umbrella store and was an umbrella and cane repairman. As a kid I used to watch him repair umbrellas in the cellar of his shop, while sitting on the stairs. Sometimes I played with the sword canes, until he found out and boxed my ears.
It takes patience, fine motor skills and special tools to repair an umbrella, it's a lost craft.

I chose my other grandfather's line of work, I'm a professional chef. I've been working in hospitality for 25 years now, starting out as a bartender, occasional barbecue caterer. I've been specializing since about 8 years and now I train professionals to use charcoal grills and help citizens with their backyard grilling.

This forum has helped me focus my fascination with blades. Kitchen knives and traditional folders.
Kitchen knives are no longer something to collect, just to use.
A while ago a renowned Solingen factory gave me a complete demonstration set to cut with on fairs and such. Then I got a branded set from one of my customers.
Strangely this destroyed my inclination to buy new knives myself. It would feel extravagant.
Most of my cutting is done with the same knives I bought between 25 and 10 years ago, all of them are good friends.

Folders and fixed blades however.. there is no end in sight yet.

Through this forum I found out that the only real Dutch knife still being produced is a fixed blade called a 'Paeremes'.

2014042511535a255989b53_zpsp3hgxp9l.jpg

(Translation from French: Farmers' knife from Walcheren isle - one of the Zeeland islands).