A Paul Long Tracker Sheath, Step By Step

I recently had a very special opportunity come my way. I was invited to spend an afternoon with Mr. Paul Long, sheath maker extraordinaire. In addition, he told me to bring a knife and we would sheath it. I was blown away. I’ve been fiddling with leather for many years off and on and recently made my third knife sheath. The first was garbage, functional garbage, but still looked like it was cobbled together by Dr. Frankenstein with parts stolen from dead sheaths. My second was passable, but nothing special. My third and most recent, for my Tracker turned out OK, but it took forever and I had to tweak and change the design on the fly as I discovered mistakes. The chance to see a true pro at work was too good to pass up.

After a couple of very pleasant telephone conversations, I arrived at Mr. Long’s shop with my Tops TB1 tracker in tow. I felt like I was carrying a sack lunch into the Queen’s brunch! I was greeted by the most welcoming person you could ask for. He was so friendly, it was almost as though I was dong him a favor! Mr. Long eagerly showed some of the different styles he had made in the past for WSK’s, and while freely offering his opinion on what would likely work best, he was very open to what I wanted as well. We decided on a style and got immediately to work.